(Original Signature of Member)

118th CONGRESS 2D Session



Congratulating the Florida Panthers for winning the 2024 Stanley Cup Final, the team's first-ever Stanley Cup championship

## IN THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES

Mrs. CHERFILUS-MCCORMICK submitted the following resolution; which was referred to the Committee on \_\_\_\_\_

## RESOLUTION

- Congratulating the Florida Panthers for winning the 2024 Stanley Cup Final, the team's first-ever Stanley Cup championship
- Whereas, on June 24, 2024, the Florida Panthers defeated the Edmonton Oilers 2–1 in Game 7 of the National Hockey League's Stanley Cup Final, winning the Stanley Cup Final 4 games to 3;
- Whereas Team Owner Vincent J. Viola, Vice Chairman, Partner, and Alternate Governor Douglas A. Cifu, President of Hockey Operations and General Manager Bill Zito and Head Coach Paul Maurice built a disciplined, talented team led on the ice by team captain Aleksander Barkov;

Whereas, on the way to winning the 2024 Stanley Cup Final, the Panthers defeated—

- (1) the Tampa Bay Lightning in the first round;
- (2) the Boston Bruins in the second round;
- (3) the President's Trophy–winning New York Rangers in the Eastern Conference Final; and

(4) the Western Conference Champion Edmonton Oilers in the Stanley Cup Final;

- Whereas the Panthers secured first place in the Atlantic Division with a record of 52–24–6 and 110 points in the regular season;
- Whereas the Panthers were awarded the Prince of Wales Trophy presented to the Eastern Conference team that advances to the Stanley Cup Final;
- Whereas every player of the 2024 Panthers contributed to this championship season, including—
  - (1) Uvis Balinskis;
  - (2) Aleksander Barkov;
  - (3) Sam Bennett;
  - (4) Tobias Bjornfot;
  - (5) Sergei Bobrovsky;
  - (6) Nick Cousins;
  - (7) Aaron Ekblad;
  - (8) Oliver Ekman-Larsson;
  - (9) Gustav Forsling;
  - (10) Jonah Gadjovich;
  - (11) Dmitry Kulikov;
  - (12) William Lockwood;
  - (13) Ryan Lomberg;
  - (14) Steven Lorentz;
  - (15) Anton Lundell;
  - (16) Eetu Luostarinen;

- (17) Josh Mahura;
- (18) Niko Mikkola;
- (19) Brandon Montour;
- (20) Kyle Okposo;
- (21) Sam Reinhart;
- (22) Evan Rodrigues;
- (23) Mackie Samoskevich;
- (24) Justin Sourdif;
- (25) Kevin Stenlund;
- (26) Anthony Stolarz;
- (27) Vladimir Tarasenko;
- (28) Matthew Tkachuk; and
- (29) Carter Verhaeghe;
- Whereas the Florida Panther Front Office, led by General Manager Bill Zito, built a gutsy, hard-working, and skilled group of talented players whose diverse talents and dedication led them to achieve hockey's ultimate prize;
- Whereas Aleksander Barkov was awarded the Selke Trophy as the best defensive forward in the National Hockey League (NHL);
- Whereas center Sam Reinhart and goalie Sergei Bobrovsky represented the Florida Panthers at the 2024 NHL All-Star Game;
- Whereas Head Coach Paul Maurice led the Panthers to backto-back Stanley Cup Finals in his first 2 years with the team;
- Whereas, for 30 seasons, the Panthers have positively contributed to their community through the Florida Panthers Foundation that supports building the game of hockey for children and youth, supporting health and

education initiatives for children, advocating for and supporting veterans' issues, and raising awareness about the endangered Florida panther; and

- Whereas the Panthers have turned the Amerant Bank Arena into the "rat-infested" best home-ice advantage in the NHL with the greatest fans in hockey: Now, therefore, be it
  - 1 *Resolved*, That the House of Representatives con-
  - 2 gratulates and honors the 2024 National Hockey League
  - 3 Stanley Cup champions, the Florida Panthers.